Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Paving the Way

New CMR shows how Article 6 supports African countries transitioning to the Paris world

Bild von David Mark auf Pixabay
Bild von David Mark auf Pixabay

July 2018 – This issue of the Carbon Mechanisms Review focuses on market-based mitigation initiatives in Africa. Among other things, it presents an initiative that pilots Article 6 activities in Sub-Saharan countries which focus on reactive power compensation and technical losses. Furthermore, the issue takes a look at Tunisia, which recently signed a Statement of Undertaking with the Nitric Acid Action Group.

Moreover, the issue features an article on the concept of forward-looking baselines for results-based fi-nancing, based on data from the South African Power Pool. Last but not least, the issue examines the current status of the NAMA pipeline and present an example from Uganda on integrating market mech-anisms and NAMA finance.

This CMR also reports on the recent decisions of the ICAO Council and their repercussions in shaping the ICAO’s CORSIA offsetting scheme. Finally, the events and outcomes of Innovate4Climate 2018 are reviewed.

Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Den Pfad ebnen

Neue CMR zeigt wie Artikel 6 die afrikanischen Länder beim Übergang in die Pariser Welt unterstützt

Sales agents for Global Cycle Solutions solar power systems by Russell Watkins (DFID) / flickr / CC BY 2.0
Sales agents for Global Cycle Solutions solar power systems by Russell Watkins (DFID) / flickr / CC BY 2.0

Juli 2018 – Diese Ausgabe der Carbon Mechanisms Review stellt marktbasierte Klimaschutzinitiativen in Afrika in den Fokus. Präsentiert wird unter anderem eine Pilotaktivität für Artikel 6, die Emissionsreduktionen durch Blindleistungskompensation und technische Verluste in Ländern Subsahara-Afrikas bewirken soll . Außerdem wird ein Blick auf Tunesien geworfen, das kürzlich ein Statement of Undertaking mit der Nitric Acid Action Group unterzeichnet hat.

Darüber hinaus umfasst die Ausgabe einen Artikel der das Konzept zukunftsorientierter Baselines für results-based finance (RBF), basierend auf Daten aus dem South African Power Pool. Ein weiterer Artikel untersucht den aktuellen Stand der NAMA-Pipeline und stellt in diesem Zusammenhang ein Beispiel aus Uganda zur Integration von Marktmechanismen und NAMA-Finanzierung vor.

Zu guter Letzt wird in dieser CMR Ausgabe über die jüngsten Beschlüsse des ICAO-Rates und deren Auswirkungen auf die Gestaltung des CORSIA-Kompensationssystems von ICAO sowie über die Ereignisse und Ergebnisse der Innovate4Climate 2018 berichtet.