Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Markets Matter – New issue of Carbon Mechanisms Review

November 2015 – This issue of the Review is published with the Paris climate summit at the door. Some elements of the current draft texts point to concrete possibilities of decision text on market mechanisms. These include the Sustainable Development Mechanism, which is to be built on the current CDM, that is a proposed element of the mitigation part of the new agreement. Other vital issues, be it the accounting rules or MRV provisions, remain vague.

This issue of the Carbon Mechanisms Review thus looks at the bigger picture – the role that markets can play and the prerequisites for meaningful use of market-based instruments. The authors comment on selected elements of the negotiations texts and weigh up the various options. The issue also features a comprehensive analysis of the role that markets play in INDCs and looks at the factors that make private sector involvement possible.

Another article analyses the situation in China, where emissions trading is being taken to the next level and a nation-wide ETS is taking form. Last not least, the Carbon Market Platform for Strategic Dialogue, initiated by the G7, is presented.

Skip to main navigation Skip to main content

Markets Matter – Neue Ausgabe der Carbon Mechanisms Review

(Photo: Michiel Buijse/flickr.com)

November 2015 Diese Ausgabe der Carbon Mechanisms Review erscheint unmittelbar vor Beginn der Klimakonferenz von Paris. Einige Elemente der aktuellen Textentwürfe zeigen konkrete Möglichkeiten für die Verankerung von Marktmechanismen im Vertragstext auf. Dies betrifft etwa den Sustainable Development Mechanism, der auf dem bisherigen CDM aufbauen soll. Andere Aspekte, wie etwa Bilanzierungsregeln oder MRV-Fragen sind derzeit noch sehr vage.
 
Diese Ausgabe der Review untersucht deshalb das „big picture“ – die Rolle, die Kohlenstoffmärkte spielen können und die Voraussetzungen für eine sinnvolle Nutzung von marktbasierten Instrumenten. Die Autoren kommentieren ausgewählte Elemente der Verhandlungstexte und spielen zahlreiche Optionen durch. Die Ausgabe beinhaltet auch eine umfassende Analyse der INDCs hinsichtlich der beabsichtigten Nutzung von Marktmechanismen durch die Staaten.

Eine weiterer Artikel untersucht die Situation in China, wo der Emissionshandel auf die nächste Stufe gehoben wird und ein nationales Emissionshandelssystem entsteht. Last not least wird die Carbon Market Platform for Strategic Dialogue, eine neue G7 Initiative, vorgestellt.